DiscoverMoscow Login

11 Reasons to Visit Moscow for New Year

From the largest skating rink to the estate of Father Frost

4604137.jpg

We will tell you about the main festive activities in Moscow: the program includes New Year’s performances, Christmas fairs, and New Year’s dishes.

Red Square has consistently been the most popular destination for New Year’s celebrations. A skating rink opens right on the square: you can get to it through the main entrance of GUM, and you will have the chance to skate with a view of the Kremlin and St. Basil’s Cathedral. There is also a traditional fair where you can buy New Year’s baubles, knitted mittens, Orenburg and Pavlov Posad shawls and other handicrafts, as well as drink hot tea or mulled wine. 

The theatrical repertoire before New Year traditionally consists of thematic performances. Among these are the main Christmas ballet The Nutcracker, the opera The Story of Kai and Gerda, based on Hans Christian Andersen’s The Snow Queen, and other classic productions. We recommend buying tickets in advance.

The country’s main exhibition space is a favorite holiday destination for Muscovites during the New Year’s holidays: themed tours of the pavilions are held here, free concerts for children are organized,and the park food court becomes a fair. The park also has the city’s largest skating rink (over 20,000 square meters), a tubing slide, and a curling rink.

The amusement park organizes a special program for the winter holidays: strolling between rides, visitors meet the characters of Christmas tales, and live New Year’s music is played at weekends. In the landscape park next to Dream Island, there is a Christmas market where you can buy holiday gifts and taste Russian cuisine.

On pre-holiday evenings, the estate museum hosts New Year’s balls inspired by 19th-century salons. Guests gather in the Grand Palace and spend several hours dancing – from polonaise to mazurka. There is a mandatory dress code: tailcoats for men and ball gowns for women.

By the New Year, the capital’s main park looks like a mysterious Christmas city: its main alleys are decorated with colorful garlands, a twenty-meter high spruce tree is placed on the square near the central entrance, and New Year’s music plays from the speakers all day long. People come here to go ice skating in Gorky Park (the skating rink is flooded right on the park paths), look at the ice sculptures (which are different every year), and ride tubes down the slide in the adjacent Muzeon park. 

One of Alexander Rappoport’s most famous restaurants is located in the historic center of the city, in the building of the National Hotel with a view of the Kremlin. The establishment serves the chef’s interpretations of classic Russian dishes: meat and other dumplings, porridges and pancakes, and soups and pastries. One of the restaurant’s main specialties is a traditional New Year’s dish, Russian salad, to which smoked chicken and cucumbers of signature salting are added. 

One of the most picturesque parks of the capital, which is especially beautiful in winter: European architecture standing out against a background of snow-covered trees and straight alleys. Kuskovo is more than just a tourist attraction, but a green spot popular with residents of the southeast of Moscow: for the New Year, spruce trees are decorated here, and at weekends there are themed performances for both adults and children.

On New Year’s eve, the Moscow metro operates without interruption – this is the only time of year when the system can be used at night and very early in the morning. The station lobbies are decorated for the holiday, and some metro lines run special New Year’s trains with images of spruce branches, garlands, and artificial snow. 

This minimalist Nordic-style signature restaurant has been awarded the Green Michelin Star for institutions that use sustainable practices. The cooks use exclusively seasonal products that the restaurant receives directly from regional farms, so the menu changes with the seasons. The winter menu includes dishes made on an open fire, mimicking campfire food. 

Cover photo: GUM website

You may be interested

loading

Free

Today

On weekends

Always

discover moscow

11 причин посетить Москву на Новый год

От самого большого катка до усадьбы Деда Мороза

4604137.jpg

Рассказываем о главных праздничных развлечениях Москвы: в программе — новогодние спектакли, рождественские ярмарки и новогодние блюда.

Театральный репертуар в канун Нового года традиционно состоит из тематических спектаклей. В программе — главный рождественский балет «Щелкунчик», опера «Кай и Герда» по мотивам «Снежной королевы» Ганса-Христиана Андерсена и другие классические постановки. Купить билеты стоит заранее.

Живописный уголок в парке «Кузьминки» — столичная резиденция главного новогоднего персонажа. Здесь оборудована почта Деда Мороза, на которой посетители могут отправить письмо волшебнику, сооружены сказочный колодец и волшебная мельница-чудесница, построены терем Снегурочки и терем творчества, а попасть в усадьбу можно по Тропе сказок.

Красная площадь неизменно становится самым популярным местом новогодних празднований. Прямо на площади открывается каток: попасть на него можно через главный вход в ГУМ, а кататься предстоит с видом на Кремль и собор Василия Блаженного. Здесь же работает традиционная ярмарка: можно приобрести елочные шары, вязаные варежки, оренбургские и павлопосадские платки и другие товары народного промысла, а еще выпить горячего чая или глинтвейна. 

Главная выставка страны — излюбленное место отдыха москвичей в новогодние праздники: здесь проводят тематические экскурсии по павильонам, устраивают бесплатные концерты для детей, а парковый фуд-корт превращается в ярмарку. Также в парке работает самый большой городской каток (более 20 тысяч квадратных метров), тюбинговая горка и площадка для керлинга.

В предпраздничные вечера в музее-усадьбе проходят новогодние балы, вдохновленные светскими салонами XIX века. Гости собираются в Большом дворце и проводят несколько часов за танцами — от полонеза до мазурки. Дресс-код также обязателен: мужчины надевают фраки, а женщины — бальные платья.

К Новому году главный парк столицы становится похожим на загадочный рождественский город: главные аллеи украшают разноцветными гирляндами, на площади у центрального входа ставят двадцатиметровую ель, а из динамиков целыми днями звучат новогодние композиции. Сюда приходят в Парк Горького покататься на коньках (каток заливают прямо на парковых дорожках) и посмотреть на ледяные скульптуры (каждый год инсталляция меняется), а в соседнем «Музеоне» работает тюбинговая горка. 

Один из самых живописных парков столицы, который особенно прекрасен зимой: европейская архитектура выделяется на фоне заснеженных деревьев и прямолинейных аллей. Кусково — не только место туристического интереса, но и излюбленный зеленый уголок жителей юго-востока Москвы: к Новому году здесь украшают ели, а по выходным проводят тематические представления для взрослых и детей.

Парк развлечений организует специальную программу к зимним праздникам: перемещаясь между аттракционами, посетители встречают героев рождественских сказок, а по выходным дням звучит живая новогодняя музыка. В соседнем с «Островом мечты» ландшафтном парке работает рождественская ярмарка, где можно купить подарки к празднику и попробовать блюда русской кухни.

В новогоднюю ночь московское метро работает без перерыва — это единственное время в году, когда воспользоваться транспортом можно ночью и ранним утром. К празднику вестибюли станций украшают, а на некоторых линиях метро курсируют специальные новогодние поезда с изображениями еловых веток, гирляндами и искусственным снегом. 

Минималистичный ресторан с авторской кухней в нордическом стиле, который удостоился зеленой звезды Michelin — их присуждают заведениям, которые применяют практики устойчивого развития. Повара используют исключительно сезонные продукты, которые ресторан получает прямо с региональных ферм, поэтому карта блюд меняется вместе с временами года. В зимнее меню обычно входят блюда, приготовленные на открытом огне, — они имитируют походную еду с костра. 

Фото обложки: сайт ГУМа

Один из самых известных ресторанов Александра Раппопорта в историческом центре города — в здании гостиницы «Националь» с видом на Кремль. В заведении подают классические блюда русской кухни в авторском прочтении: пельмени и вареники, каши и блины, супы и выпечку. Одним из главных специалитетов ресторана считается традиционное новогоднее блюдо — салат оливье, в который добавляют копченую курицу и огурцы собственного посола. 

Вам будет интересно

loading

Бесплатно

Сегодня

В выходные

Всегда