discover moscow

A day in Basmanny

Street art, art block and an old mansion

басманный .jpeg

Basmanny is one of Moscow's central districts, where historic buildings are juxtaposed with industrial structures, as shopping centers are with contemporary art galleries. We'll give you an idea of how to organize a walk between Kitay-gorod and the Yauza Embankments.

A picturesque courtyard with art studios that is easily recognized by its graffiti-painted walls. There are vintage shops and bijouterie shops, intellectual bookstores and designer showrooms, the prestigious Blanc Bar with a nearby summer veranda, and all this can be found in the courtyard between the historic buildings. The Morozovsky Garden across the street, a cozy green corner at the intersection of three lanes — Khokhlovsky, Podkopaevsky, and Bolshoi Tryokhsvyatitelsky — is also worth a look.

A modern three-level square on the outskirts of Kitay-gorod, erected at the site of a parking lot by the decision of the local residents. The main entrance with its luminous fountain is opposite the synagogue on Bolshoy Spasoglinischevsky Lane, and the ornate stairs lead to Pokrovka or to the Osip Mandelstam monument on Solyansky Cul-de-sac. Gorka is the quintessence of rich neighborhood life: people walk here with their children, play basketball, have picnics, and sunbathe.

A spacious square with a concert stage and many alleys branching off. Its main attractions are the Belvedere Grotto from aristocratic times, the basilisk fountain presented to Moscow by Basel as a memento of this Swiss city, and long rows of small stores and cafés. An ideal place for a holiday with children: there is a large playground, an 'ecoprodolenka' with workshops and walks in the afternoons, as well as a free theater studio.

A contemporary art center on the site of a former winery. The cluster has several private galleries with constantly updated exhibitions, several design studios, and two lecture halls, and to the right of the entrance, there is a branch of Falanster, Moscow's main independent bookstore. At the back of the courtyard, there is a mobile street art exhibition. Part of the wall has been torn down along with its drawings, but a new one is promised to be built soon.

Another creative cluster near Kursky Station with stores, studios, and small offices. However, there is also contemporary art here: the walls of the complex were painted by French stencil artist C215, Ukrainian duo Interesni Kazki, and Russian conceptualist Misha Most. The courtyards of the buildings often host music festivals, bookstores, and vintage markets.

A record store in one of the youngest parts of the district, the Aviator art quarter, where the clubs Success and Punk Fiction are located, with non-stop concerts every weekend. Musicians from Moscow's indie bands are responsible for building the selection, records are bought at vinyl flea markets in Europe, and accompanying the showcase is a bookshelf where you'll find nearly as much music literature as in the Central House of Books.

A few years ago, the shopping center near Kursky Station was turned into a street art gallery: street art stars from all over the world were invited to paint the facades of the mall. Now, on the walls of the building, you can see the work of Time magazine cover designer Shepard Fairey, and in the covered passage to the station you'll find calligraphy by Pokras Lampas. Inside, there are three floors of clothing stores and a food court with a panoramic view of the Garden Ring.

You may be interested

loading

Free

Today

On weekends

Always

discover moscow

День в Басманном

Стрит-арт на месте промзоны, арт-квартал и старинный особняк

басманный .jpeg

Басманный — один из центральных районов Москвы, на территории которого историческая застройка соседствует с индустриальными зданиями, а торговые центры — с галереями современного искусства. Рассказываем, как организовать прогулку между Китай-городом и набережными Яузы.

Живописный двор с художественными мастерскими, который легко узнать по расписанным граффити стенам. Здесь соседствуют винтажные лавки и магазины бижутерии, интеллектуальный книжный и дизайнерские шоурумы, рядом располагается престижный бар Blanc с летней верандой, а все это — во дворе между историческими зданиями. Стоит заглянуть и в Морозовский сад напротив, уютный зеленый уголок на пересечении трех переулков — Хохловского, Подкопаевского и Большого Трёхсвятительского.

Современный трехуровневый сквер в окрестностях Китай-города, решением местных жителей возведенный на парковочном пустыре. Главный вход со светящимся фонтаном — напротив синагоги в Большом Спасоглинищевском переулке, а по витиеватым лестницам можно выйти на Покровку или к памятнику Осипу Мандельштаму в Солянском тупике. «Горка» — квинтэссенция насыщенной районной жизни: здесь гуляют с детьми, играют в баскетбол, устраивают пикники и загорают на солнце.

Особняк XVIII века, напоминающий петербургский Зимний дворец в миниатюре. Архитектор здания неизвестен, однако выполнено оно в нетипичной для застройки того времени стилистике елизаветинского барокко, а из-за экстраординарной формы дворец получил прозвище «дом-комод». Сейчас попасть внутрь дома невозможно, но фасад детально отреставрирован в соответствии с его первоначальным обликом.

Просторный сквер с концертной сценой и множеством разветвленных аллей. Главные его достопримечательности — грот «Бельведер» из дворянских времен, фонтан-василиск, подаренный столице Базелем как символ этого швейцарского города, а также длинные ряды небольших магазинов и кафе. Идеальное место для отдыха с детьми: здесь есть большая игровая площадка, работает «экопродленка» с мастер-классами и прогулками в послеобеденное время, а также бесплатная театральная студия.

Центр современного искусства на месте бывшей винной фабрики. В кластере несколько частных галерей с постоянно меняющимися экспозициями, несколько дизайнерских студий и два лекционных зала, а справа от входа — филиал «Фаланстера», главного независимого книжного магазина Москвы. В глубине двора располагается передвижная выставка стрит-арта — часть стены с рисунками снесли, но вскоре обещают возвести новую.

Еще один креативный кластер вблизи Курского вокзала с магазинами, студиями и небольшими офисами. Впрочем, современное искусство здесь тоже есть: стены корпусов комплекса расписывали французский трафаретист С215, украинский дуэт Interesni Kazki и российский концептуалист Миша Мост. Во дворах корпусов часто проходят музыкальные фестивали, книжные барахолки и винтаж-маркеты.

Магазин пластинок в одном из самых молодежных мест района — арт-квартале «Авиатор», где соседствуют клубы «Успех» и Punk Fiction с нон-стоп-концертами каждые выходные. За ассортимент отвечают музыканты московских инди-групп, пластинки закупают на европейских виниловых барахолках, а дополняет витрину книжная полка — музыкальной литературы здесь едва ли не больше, чем в Центральном доме книги.

Торговый центр у Курского вокзала несколько лет назад превратился в галерею уличного искусства: расписывать фасады молла пригласили звезд стрит-арта со всего мира. Сейчас на торце здания можно увидеть работу дизайнера обложек журнала Time Шепарда Фейри, а в крытом переходе на вокзал — каллиграфию Покраса Лампаса. Внутри — три этажа магазинов с одеждой и фудкорт с панорамным видом на Садовое кольцо.

Вам будет интересно

loading

Бесплатно

Сегодня

В выходные

Всегда