discover moscow

The best places to enjoy contemporary art

A concise guide to the capital's contemporary art galleries

гараж.jpeg

From the first state museum to a gallery complex in a luxury hotel building, here are the best places to experience contemporary art.

The first art museum in post-Soviet Moscow with a rich collection of Alexander Rodchenko's works and archival documents from his family. Historically, the MAMM (Multimedia Art Museum, Moscow) has specialized in contemporary photography exhibitions, but it is not limited to them alone. The main part of the exhibition space is occupied by temporary exhibitions: works by Banksy, Andy Warhol, and Jean-Michel Basquiat have been displayed here at different times.

For a long time, the gallery was located at Krasny Oktyabr, but in 2021, it moved to a 19th-century mansion on Polyanka. Now there are two exhibition halls, a café, and a bookstore. The center organizes exhibitions by notable photographers such as Robert Mapplethorpe, Annie Leibovitz, and others, as well as those by young artists. You can also visit the gallery as part of a guided tour, which covers not only the exhibition space, but also the vault, archive, and office.

The most popular museum of contemporary art in Moscow, with an educational center, a café, and a laboratory for young artists. Garage regularly hosts exhibitions by the stars of contemporary art — Marina Abramovich, Raymond Pettibon, Yayoi Kusama, and others. The translucent museum complex was designed by the famous Dutch architect Rem Koolhaas. Since it opened in 2008, the museum has changed several locations, finally settling in the building of the former Four Seasons restaurant with its mosaic panels. In addition to exhibitions, Garage often hosts concerts right in its galleries and lectures by internationally renowned art critics in its lecture hall. There is also a summer cinema, Garage Screen, which runs from May till September in the courtyard.

Russia's first state museum of contemporary art, offering a large collection of avant-garde art. Most of it consists of works by domestic artists, but there are also works by European masters — visual works by Pablo Picasso, Juan Miró, and Giorgio de Chirico, sculptures by Salvador Dali, and paintings by Henri Rousseau. Also, the courtyard of the museum is decorated with sculptures by Zurab Tsereteli, one of the founders of the museum.

One of Moscow's most unusual galleries: it specializes in works created with the help of digital technologies. The works of masters of video and audio art, media, and performance art are exhibited here, and almost all the exhibitions have an interactive format. The center has a permanent exhibition where visitors can, for example, interact with digital paintings or sit in a space chair. M'ARS also organizes annual events: the comics festival CoMissiya, the youth project Field of MARS, and the exhibition ArtDigita.

An art space on the first floor of The Ritz-Carlton Hotel designed for artists, curators, and collectors to share their experiences. The complex consists of several galleries — most of them are usually occupied by short-term exhibitions and curatorial projects, but there are also permanent residents. Several times a year, the gallery hosts contemporary art auctions and conferences.

You may be interested

loading

Free

Today

On weekends

Always

discover moscow

Где смотреть современное искусство

Краткий гид по столичным контемпорари-арт-галереям

гараж.jpeg

От первого государственного музея до галерейного комплекса в здании роскошного отеля — рассказываем, где можно познакомиться с современным искусством.

Первый художественный музей постсоветской Москвы с богатой коллекцией работ Александра Родченко и архивными документами его семьи. Исторически МАММ специализируется на выставках современной фотографии, но не ограничивается только ею. Основную часть выставочного пространства занимают временные экспозиции — здесь в разное время были представлены работы Бэнкси, Энди Уорхола и Жан-Мишеля Баския.

Долгое время галерея располагалась на «Красном Октябре», но в 2021 году переехала в здание особняка XIX века на Полянке. Теперь здесь два выставочных зала, кафе и книжный магазин. В центре проходят как экспозиции фотографов-классиков — Роберта Мэпплторпа, Энни Лейбовиц и других, так и молодых авторов. Посетить галерею можно также с экскурсией, которая охватывает не только выставочное пространство, но и хранилище, архив и офис.

Самый популярный музей современного искусства в Москве с образовательным центром, кафе и лабораторией для молодых художников. В «Гараже» регулярно проходят экспозиции звезд контемпорари-арта — Марины Абрамович, Раймонда Петтибона, Яёи Кусамы и других. Полупрозрачный музейный комплекс спроектировал известный нидерландский архитектор Рем Колхас. С момента открытия в 2008 году музей сменил несколько локаций, а затем обосновался в здании бывшего ресторана «Времена года» с мозаичными панно. Помимо выставок, в «Гараже» часто устраивают концерты прямо в галерейных залах и проводят лекции всемирно известных арт-критиков в лектории, а с мая по сентябрь во дворе работает летний кинотеатр Garage Screen.

Первый в России государственный музей современного искусства с большой коллекцией авангарда. Ее основную часть составляют работы отечественных художников, но есть и произведения европейских мастеров — графика Пабло Пикассо, Хуана Миро и Джорджо де Кирико, скульптуры Сальвадора Дали, живопись Анри Руссо. Также двор музея украшают скульптуры Зураба Церетели, который стал одним из его основателей.

Одна из самых необычных московских галерей: она специализируется на произведениях, созданных с помощью цифровых технологий. Здесь выставляются мастера видео- и саунд-арта, медиахудожники и перформансисты, а почти все выставки предполагают интерактивный формат. В центре есть постоянная экспозиция — там посетители могут, например, взаимодействовать с цифровыми картинами или посидеть в космическом кресле. «М'АРС» также организует ежегодные мероприятия: фестиваль комиксов «КоМиссия», молодежный проект «МАРСово поле» и выставку ArtDigita.

Арт-пространство на первом этаже отеля The Ritz-Carlton, созданное для обмена опытом между художниками, кураторами и коллекционерами. Комплекс состоит из нескольких галерей — большую их часть обычно занимают краткосрочные экспозиции и кураторские проекты, но есть здесь и постоянные резиденты. Несколько раз в год в галерее проводят аукционы современного искусства и конференции.

Вам будет интересно

loading

Бесплатно

Сегодня

В выходные

Всегда