discover moscow

Revisiting Dostoevsky

Rock opera, ballet, and ...

Cafe_Idiot_5.jpeg

Although Dostoevsky's novels date back more than a century back, they are still subject to debates and reinterpretations, including in the realm of theater. Contemporary directors offering modern takes on "The Idiot" and "The Brothers Karamazov" is now almost commonplace. That said, even a greater number of adaptations of Dostoevsky's literary oeuvre are about to hit the stage ahead of the writer's 200th anniversary. We have compiled a list of the most noteworthy ones.

The Idiotology

Klim Kozinsky dedicated his directorial debut to how an obsession with utopias and idealism can transform into idiocy. The play is based on The Idiot by Dostoevsky and The Monadology by Gottfried Leibniz, one of the greatest German philosophers.

Prince Myshkin is obsessed with the idea of uniting the divine world with the human one. In his turn, Kozinsky seeks to unite theater and literature without subordinating one to the other. The play wouldn't be that impressive without the set design alluding to the paintings of surrealist Rene Magritte. This contribution was made by the artist Anastasia Nefedova, the laureate of the Golden Mask Prize.

The Karamazovs

The director Konstantin Bogomolov plays out his fantasies based on The Brothers Karamazov novel by F. M. Dostoevsky. He omitted "The Brothers" part of the play's title on purpose. The director focuses on the detective mystery rather than the philosophical and religious aspects. However, critics have noted Bogomolov's careful attitude to the original text, and viewers agree that this play will be of great interest to those who are well familiar with the novel. The cast includes famous Russian actresses like Roza Khayrullina, Alexandra Rebyonok, Marina Zudina, and Daria Moroz. The show lasts 5 hours with two intermissions.

R. R. R.

This play by Yuri Eremin is based on Crime and Punishment. The main character is Rodion Romanovich Raskolnikov, whose initials form the play's title. An admirer of Napoleon, he kills an old pawnbroker lady and becomes haunted by pangs of conscience. The show has many special effects, stunning decorations, and unforgettable scenes.

The creators believe that young people will particularly enjoy the play: “If eating popcorn in the theater like in the cinema was a thing, teenagers would put their snacks aside while watching our show.”

The young actor Aleksei Trofimov portrays Raskolnikov, and Viktor Sukhorukov portrays Porfiry Petrovich.

The Karamazovs' Rock Opera

The legendary novel has been adapted into a rock opera! Despite the peculiarities of the format, the main plot lines remained unchanged and true to the book. The performance will please both connoisseurs of Dostoevsky's works who would like to look at the story from a different angle and those who haven't read the original but are fond of contemporary theater.

Raskol (Rupture)

Actors of few generations will take part in the new theatrical adaptation of Crime and Punishment dedicated to the 200th anniversary of Fyodor Dostoevsky.

The show's creators offer you to read Dostoevsky between the lines, look at the story from today's perspective, and follow the main character from the beginning to the end.

The Idiot Café

This show is based on The Idiot, a novel by Dostoevsky, and staged by the famous choreographer Alexander Pepelyaev. The cast comprises the contemporary dance troupe from the Ballet Moscow.

It is not easy to retell a multi-layered and eventful novel through dance. However, the creators gracefully took up this challenge, with the effect attesting to the writer's genius. They decomposed the novel into complex parts: Nastasya Filippovna, Rogozhina, Myshkina are portrayed by several performers.

Connoisseurs of contemporary dance will find this performance especially interesting.

You may be interested

loading

Free

Today

On weekends

Always

discover moscow

Пересматривая Достоевского

Рок-опера, балет и...

Cafe_Idiot_5.jpeg

Достоевский писал свои романы более века назад, но о них до сих пор спорят, в том числе и в театральном пространстве. Интерпретации «Идиота» и «Братьев Карамазовых» — едва ли не любимая тема современных режиссеров. Постановок по текстам Достоевского стало еще больше в преддверии 200-летнего юбилея писателя. О самых интересных спектаклях на тексты русского классика расскажем в этой подборке.

Рок-опера «КарамазоВЫ»

Роман решили преподнести в формате рок-оперы. При всей специфике выбранной формы, основные сюжетные линии сохранены и внятно артикулированы. Спектакль будет интересен как тем, кто хорошо знаком с произведением Достоевского и хочет увидеть знакомую историю в неожиданном преломлении, так и тем, кто не читал оригинала, но любит современный театр.

«Карамазовы»

Режиссер спектакля называет его так: «Фантазии режиссёра К. Богомолова на тему романа Ф.М. Достоевского». Богомолов специально убрал из названия слово «братья». В романе ему интереснее детективная интрига, а не философско-религиозная составляющая. При этом, как говорят критики. Богомолов особенно внимателен к тексту интерпретируемого произведения, а зрители сходятся во мнении, что постановка будет особенно интересна тем, кто хорошо знаком с романом. В ролях такие известные актрисы, как Роза Хайруллина, Александра Ребенок, Марина Зудина, Дарья Мороз. Пятичасовой спектакль идет с двумя антрактами.

«Идиотология»

Дебютный спектакль режиссера Клима Козинского посвящен одержимости утопиями и идеализмом, которые способны трансформироваться в идиотизм. Драматургия спектакля основана на «Идиоте» Достоевского и трактате «Монадология», написанном предтечей немецкой классической философии Готфридом Лейбницем.

Князь Мышкин одержим болезненной страстью соединить мир божественный и мир земной, человеческий. Козинский, в свою очередь задумал соединить театр и литературу, не подчиняя одно другому. Важной составляющей спектакля стало художественное оформление, выполненное лауреатом «Золотой Маски», художницей Анастасией Нефедовой в стиле полотен сюрреалиста Рене Магритта.

«Раскол»

Новое сценическое прочтение романа «Преступление и наказание», приуроченное к 200-летию Фёдора Достоевского в исполнении артистов разных поколений.

Создатели постановки предлагают зрителям прочитать Достоевского между строк, взглянуть на историю из сегодняшнего дня и буквально поминутно пройти путь вместе с главным героем произведения.

«Р.Р.Р.»

В основу спектакля Юрия Ерёмина лег роман «Преступление и наказание». Главное действующее лицо постановки — Родион Романович Раскольников (спектакль назван его инициалами) возомнил себя Наполеоном, убил старуху-процентщицу, после чего его неизбежно настигли муки совести. В спектакле много спецэффектов, яркие декорации и запоминающиеся сцены.

О том, что он может быть особенно интересен молодежи, говорят сами создатели: «Если бы в театре, как в кино, можно было сидеть с попкорном, то, на нашем спектакле тинейджер свой попкорн отставил бы в сторону».

Молодой актер Алексей Трофимов выступает в роли Раскольникова, Виктор Сухоруков в роли Порфирия Петровича.

«Кафе Идиот»

Спектакль по мотивам романа «Идиот» Достоевского поставил известный хореограф Александр Пепеляев, исполнители — труппа современного танца Балета «Москва».

Пересказать многослойный, насыщенный событиями роман с помощью только движений и образов — задача, на первый взгляд, непростая. Но, по мнению создателей спектакля, тот факт, что ее оказалось возможно реализовать, подчеркивает масштаб гения писателя. В постановке роман разложен на многослойные партии: Настасью Филипповну, Рогожина, Мышкина играют сразу несколько исполнителей.

Спектакль будет особенно интересен поклонникам современной хореографии.

Вам будет интересно

loading

Бесплатно

Сегодня

В выходные

Всегда